Discover the cultural and industrial heritage of Southwestern Pennsylvania
Nominate new places or
revise information. Click Here!

Old Stone House

Alle-Kiski

Old Stone House

Location Details

PHONE: 724-794-4296 or 724-738-2053
ADDRESS: 2865 Wm. Flynn HYWY.
Slippery Rock, PA 16057
HOURS: May-Oct: Sat, 10am-5pm; Sun, Noon-5pm, or by appointment

Description

Before railroads reshaped the country and dominated southwestern Pennsylvania, there was the stagecoach, a much slower and more uncertain means of travel. Beginning in 1822, the Old Stone House run by John K. Brown and his family served as an inn along the Venango Indian Trail for weary travelers and stagecoach drivers. The Venango Trail was the main route between Pittsburgh and Erie to the north.

The first floor has a small formal parlor that was used for families staying at the inn, and a bar that would have served both travelers and locals (be sure to read the inn’s rules posted on the door). The second floor has private quarters for the Brown family, along with the beds for customers of the inn and a display about the building’s history. At that time people did not rent rooms (there were only two rooms on the second floor!) but instead rented beds: as many as seven people would sleep in one room on the rope beds.

Two original artifacts remain at the Old Stone House from owner John Brown: a pewter cup engraved with his name (probably from his christening) and a quilt on a bed on the second floor. The inn operated through the 1880s until railroad transportation made coach travel obsolete. The property became a private home and eventually was acquired by Slippery Rock University. This historic site now hosts many reenactments and programs during the year.

Rivers of Steel enewsletter sign up

Rivers of Steel enewsletter sign up